Skip to content

Bringin’ the Heat…er Cold

August 5, 2012

 

Wow! Flip the calendar to August and the heat from the 2nd hottest month on record in Minnesota is gone. The 90’s have been replaced with the 70’s for daytime highs. The mornings have seen the steamy, humid 70’s replaced by the upper-50’s. How much does this temperature change impact running times? According to running guru Jeff Galloway, he suggests to “slow down by 30 sec a mile for every 5 degree temperature increase above 60F.” So, let’s do a little math here. By cooling down just 10F, I should speed up about a minute/mile. On my July 22nd run, I did 16 miles at an 8:39/mile pace. Suddenly, 10 degrees cooler would bring those times down to just over my marathon race pace. Want more proof? Check out the raw data from this weekend’s two runs:

Yesterday’s Workout-

Distance: 6 miles

Time: 43:10 (7:11/mile)

Yesterday’s run was a pace run. As such, I’m supposed to be running it at my marathon race pace. Earlier this year, I qualified for Boston by running 7:24/mile at the Fargo Marathon. I hope to improve on that time at this fall’s Twin Cities Marathon. To go sub-3 hours, I would need to be at 6:54/mile. I don’t know that that’ll happen, but by continuing to go 7:11/mile means I should be able to shave off several minutes to start approaching that goal.

Today’s Workout-

Distance: 12 miles

Time: 1:38:55 (8:14/mile)

My workout today was just your basic mileage workout. Having blasted my legs on the treadmill mountain marathon on Thursday and in yesterday’s pace workout, I just ran at a comfortable pace. Today’s comfortable pace was 25 seconds/mile faster than that July 22nd workout. See what I mean about the difference the temperature makes?!?! I felt comfortable the whole time, didn’t mentally fight it and really enjoyed my run more than any run I had in July.

Though I don’t want winter to make an early appearance in a place that gets its fair share of cold and snow, I can handle another few months of these kinds of temperatures. Nature’s air conditioning is awesome. Bring it!

Tomorrow’s Workout-

Optional 3 miles

+

90 minute soccer match

 

From → Workout

One Comment
  1. Annette permalink

    ‘…I just ran at a comfortable pace.’ At 8:14/mile?!?!?! I would be dead. You sure have come a long way. And, I don’t say it often enough but I am so proud of you. I continue to be more and more impressed. xoxo

Leave a Reply

Fit and Feminist

Because it takes strong women to smash the patriarchy.

a sense of place

Ronnie Hughes and Sarah Horton

Candy Coated Runner

Because candy makes everything better!

RunGuttersRun

From nowhere to a Marathon and beyond...

paintandsimple

Daily pastel paintings from artist Juliana Crownover

Y42K?

Some days it's just a marathon

Grandma Runs!

Thoughts on women's running, middle age, and making the most of every day

jacksmumontherun

Running, more running and a bit of Rugby League!

abradypus

Just another WordPress.com site

drinkrunyoga

Just another WordPress.com site

dcexplores

Living. Loving. Exploring.

veganchopnchat

Veganchopnchat is words and sustenance for body and soul!

Warrior Athlete

TIL VALHALL!

runninghaiku

seventeen syllables about the humor, inspiration, and pain in running

Happy Talk

Just another WordPress.com site

Loch Ness Duathlon

Just a small training blog about a large man preparing for an even larger race

Insanity Rambles On...

and on...and on...and on...

Things I like...

AND THEN RUN!

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

DrRachelRuns

Dr. Rachel Runs - Documenting my life on the run. Running, coaching, and blogging in Connecticut.

Revival of the Fitness

Getting in Shape & Staying in Shape!

breathlessrunner

i huff. i puff. i run. just a crazy running girl in a crazy running world.

2nighticanwrite

Just another WordPress.com site

KFOR.com

Oklahoma's News Channel 4

somegirlsdontneedtoyoudo

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Running in the Rain

Running, Technology, Christian Spirituality and Running

Chasing Pavements

Running on gluten-free carbs...

The Caffeinated Runner

Product Reviews, Photography, Recipes & Running.

Average Abundance

average is the majority but abundance is my choice

Transventure

Adventures of an outdoor athlete, by Andrew Gills

ironmethuselah

You are greater than you believe!

elisariva

Seizing life's joys and challenges physically, mentally, and emotionally.

My Purposeful Life

One Girl's Journey Through Thick and Thin, Finding her Fittest, Happiest Self While Never Saying No to Chocolate, Beer, or Wine

Living Made Healthy

a blog about living the good life

Clip Snark

on the existence of clip art

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

